Being pulled over for drunk driving in Michigan can have severe consequences. If you have been pulled over for impaired driving it is essential to call legal representation right away. Having a drunk driving charge on your record can impact your family, your job and your insurance rates. In addition, once you receive a third conviction for a DUI you could be charged with a felony.
Drunk Driving Laws in Michigan
Under Michigan law it is illegal for a driver over the age of 21 to have a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or greater and anyone under the age of 21 cannot have a BAC of .02 or greater. Even if your BAC does not reach these levels a police officer may still arrest you if you are showing signs of impairment. When out drinking socially with friends or at an event the number of drinks you consume may get away from you, so it is important to understand what your body type can handle before reaching these levels in the future. A variety of apps and websites can help you better understand your potential BAC.
The 3 Different DUI Charges you may Face in Michigan
There are different charges that you may face depending on the observations of the officer at the scene and testing done on your BAC. These charges include: Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD), Under Age 21 Operating With Any Bodily Alcohol Content (Zero Tolerance).
The state of Michigan has increased the punishment for DUI charges including a mandatory 6-month driver license suspension for the first conviction. Our team at the Basiga Law Firm will be able to help you work through these consequences including getting you back in the driver’s seat sooner with a restricted license. A restricted license can be issued even if your full suspension time has not lapsed.
Other consequences for first-time offenses where the BAC was below .17 may include fines up to $500; jail time up to 93 days; up to 360 hours of community service and 6 points on a driver’s license. These fines and penalties increase for charges related to a BAC above .17. This is known as the “Super Drunk” law. In addition, you may be required to complete an alcohol treatment program and you may need to install an ignition interlock on your vehicle.
Tips if You’ve been Charged with a DUI in Michigan
You should call for legal representation as soon as possible after being charged. The prosecutor may try to pressure you into taking a plea bargain in your case. Remember the prosecution has to prove your guilt. Avoid the penalties outlined above by winning your case with the support of the attorneys at Basiga Law Firm.
It is vital to have legal representation to sort through the evidence the police and prosecutor may be using in your case. While examining your case we want to hear your side of the story.
- Did the police have a reason to pull you over?
- Was there sufficient cause for a breathalyzer test to be administered at the scene?
As your attorneys, we will review your entire case including the results of any breath or blood tests the police gave you at the scene, the hospital or at the jail.
Facing a DUI charge can be complicated. Be prepared to face your case with a team of dedicated legal professional.
The lawyers at Basiga Law Firm will help you through the entire court proceedings.
Call our team of legal professionals in Okemos today at 517-708-7830.